NFFPC.org

Commissioners

Every full Compact member has three (3) commissioners selected by the agency that they represent. Every associate member has two (2) non-voting commissioners selected by their agency, usually represented by the manager for the local area.

Buildings

Authority and Mandate

Authority is given for the Northeastern Forest Fire Protection Compact to be directed by appointed commissioners under Article III of Public Law #129 – 81st Congress where it states that:

"Each state joining herein shall appoint three representatives to a Commission hereby designated as the Northeastern Forest Fire Protection Commission."

The mandate of the Commission is to promote effective prevention and control of forest fires in the northeastern region of the United States and adjacent areas in Canada.

Buildings

Membership

Any adjacent state or, with the approval of Congress, any adjacent Canadian province. Commissioner membership currently represents:

ConnecticutBureau of Indian AffairsFire Department of the City of New York (FDNY)MaineMassachusettsNew BrunswickNewfoundland and LabradorNew HampshireNew YorkNova ScotiaPrince Edward IslandQuébecRhode IslandU.S. Fish and Wildlife ServiceU.S. National Park ServiceUSDA Forest Service (WMNF and GMNF)Vermont

Note: The U.S. Forest Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S. National Park Service, Fire Department of NYC, and Bureau of Indian Affairs are Associate Members. Each appoints two (2) non-voting Commissioners.

Buildings

Organization

The articles of the Compact (Article III) call for 3 Commissioners from each agency. For the U.S. membership, Commissioners for each agency will be:

  • The State Forester, Fire Control officer ex-officio, or equivalent;
  • A legislative member or equivalent; and
  • A representative of the Governor or equivalent.

For Canadian membership, each agency will designate three (3) Commissioners who will approximate the pattern associated with the U.S. selection. Associate members appoint two (2) non-voting commissioners.

Buildings

Objectives

  • Develop integrated forest fire plans.
  • Maintain adequate forest fire fighting services by member agencies.
  • Provide for mutual aid in fighting forest fires and procedures that will facilitate such mutual aid.
  • Establish a central agency to coordinate the services of the member agencies and to perform such common services as the member agencies request.
Buildings

Duties/Responsibilities

  • To ascertain methods, practices and circumstances for bringing about prevention and control of forest fires.
  • To coordinate the forest fire plans and work of the member agencies.
  • To facilitate the sending and receiving of mutual aid.
  • To formulate and revise a regional forest fire plan to serve as a common fire plan for the region.
  • To recommend to the Governors and Legislatures/Parliaments measures to promote the purpose of the Compact.
  • Recommend to the member agencies any and all measures that will effect the prevention and control of forest fires.

Contacts

Reese Kerbow (BIA)

Work Email: reese.kerbow@bia.gov
Mobile Phone: +1 828-736-0952
Office Phone: +1 615-564-6780

Address:
32 Drowning Bear St.
Bldg #32
P.O. Box 1959
Cherokee, NC 28719
United States

Christopher Martin (CT)

Work Email: christopher.martin@ct.gov
Work Phone: +1 860-424-3630
Work Fax: +1 860-424-4070

Address:
Dept. of Environmental Conservation
Division of Forestry
79 Elm Street
Hartford, CT 60106
United States

Bruce Villwock (CT)

Work Email: villwock@aol.com
Private Phone: +1 860-682-3565

Stuart Carver (FDNY)

Work Email: stuart.carver@fdny.nyc.gov
Mobile Phone: +1 914-443-2356

Address:
13 Wedgewood Lane
Middletown, NY 10940
United States

Michael Kinnane (FDNY)

Work Email: michael.kinnane@fdny.nyc.gov
Work Phone: +1 646-770-5864

Address:
1937 Hendrickson Street
Brooklyn, NY 11234
United States

John Sinclair (GMNF)

Work Email: jsinclair@usda.gov
Work Phone: +1 802-747-6704
Work Fax: +1 802-747-6766

Address:
Green Mountain/Finger Lakes National Forest
231 N. Main St.
Rutland, VT 05701
United States

Patty Cormier (ME)

Work Email: patty.cormier@maine.gov
Work Phone: +1 207-287-2791
Mobile Phone: +1 207-446-2152
Work Fax: +1 207-287-2795

Address:
Dept. of Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry
Maine Forest Service
18 Elkins Lane, Harlow Bldg, SHS #22
Augusta, ME 04333
United States

Bill Hamilton (ME)

Work Email: hamiltonb391@gmail.com
Work Phone: +1 207-712-8210

George W. Baker, Jr. (MA)

Work Email: gwbaker@live.com
Work Email: george@fireandicecoaching.net
Mobile Phone: +1 774-836-6791

Address:
66 Pinecrest Beach Dr.
East Falmouth, MA 02536
United States

Peter Church (MA)

Work Email: pchurch@mass.gov
Work Phone: +1 617-626-1461
Mobile Phone: +1 617-626-1642

Address:
Dept. of Conservation and Recreation
Bureau of Forest Fire Control and Forestry
251 Causeway Street, Suite 600
Boston, MA 02114
United States

William Driscoll (MA)

Work Email: william.driscoll@mahouse.gov

Troy Adams (NB)

Work Email: troy.adams@gnb.ca
Work Phone: +1 506-440-9332

Address:
Dept. of Energy and Resource Development
Forest Fire Management Section
1350 Reqent St.
P.O. Box 6000
Fredericton, NB E3C 2G6
Canada

Kristian Moore (NB)

Work Email: kristian.moore@gnb.ca
Work Phone: +1 506-453-6171
Work Fax: +1 506-444-5839

Address:
Executive Director of Regional Operations and Support Services
P.O. Box 6000
Fredericton, NB E3C 2G6
Canada

Patrick Hackley (NH)

Past Chair

Work Email: patrick.d.hackley@dncr.nh.gov
Work Phone: +1 603-271-2214

Address:
Dept. of Natural and Cultural Resources
Division of Forests and Lands
172 Pembroke Road
Concord, NH 03301
United States

Douglas Miner (NH)

Work Email: douglas.c.miner@dncr.nh.gov
Work Phone: +1 603-227-8734
Mobile Phone: +1 603-419-9143

John Solan (NY)

Work Email: john.solan@dec.ny.gov
Work Phone: +1 518-402-8839
Work Fax: +1 518-402-8840

Address:
Dept. of Environmental Conservation
Forest Protection, Fire Management
625 Broadway Ave., 8th Floor
Albany, NY 12233-2560
United States

Joe Zeglen (NY)

Work Email: zegmister@aol.com
Mobile Phone: +1 518-588-7063

Address:
219 Sunnyside Road
Scotia, NY 12302
United States

Blair Adams (NL)

Work Email: blairadams@gov.nl.ca
Work Phone: +1 709-637-2199

Address:
Assistant Deputy Minister
Dept. of Fisheries, Forestry and Agriculture
192 Wheelers Road
P.O. Box 2006
Corner Brook, NL A2H 6J8
Canada

Jeff Motty, RPF (NL)

Chair

Work Email: jeffmotty@gov.nl.ca
Work Phone: +1 709-637-2404
Mobile Phone: +1 709-640-0087
Work Fax: +1 709-637-2403

Address:
Dept. of Fisheries and Land Resources
Forestry and Wildlife Branch
192 Wheeler's Road
P.O. Box 2006
Corner Brook, NL A2H 0J1
Canada

Vacant (NS)

Vacant (NS)

Jim Rudderham (NS)

Work Email: jim.rudderham@novascotia.ca
Work Phone: +1 902-354-6128
Work Fax: +1 902-354-7108

Address:
Dept. of Lands and Forestry
552 Highway Eight
P.O. Box 190
Milton, NS B0T 1P0
Canada

Kate MacQuarrie (PE)

Work Email: kemacquarrie@gov.pe.ca
Work Phone: +1 902-368-4705
Mobile Phone: +1 902-314-0741
Work Fax: +1 902-368-4713

Address:
Dept. of Communities, Land, and Environment
Forests, Fish, and Wildlife Division
183 Upton Road
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8
Canada

Mike K. Montigny (PE)

Vice Chair

Work Email: mmontigny@gov.pe.ca
Work Phone: +1 902-368-4709
Mobile Phone: +1 902-314-9291

Address:
Dept. of Communities, Land, and Environment
Forests, Fish, and Wildlife Division
183 Upton Road
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8
Canada

Nicholas Thompson (PE)

Work Email: ncthompson@gov.pe.ca
Work Phone: +1 902-961-7296
Mobile Phone: +1 902-393-3612
Work Fax: +1 902-961-7298

Address:
Dept. of Energy, Environment & Climate Action
Forests, Fish, and Wildlife Division
183 Upton Road
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8
Canada

Sébastien Lacroix (QC)

Work Email: sebastien.lacroix@mffp.gouv.qc.ca
Mobile Phone: +1 418-446-5459

Address:
Ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs
5700, 4e ave ouest, A-214.4
Québec, QC G1H 6R1
Canada

Antoine Leboeuf (QC)

Work Email: antoine.leboeuf@mffp.gouv.qc.ca
Work Phone: +1 418-627-8646 ext. 704306

Address:
Fire Management and Regulation Department
Forest Protection Directorate
5700 West 4th Avenue, Room A-214
Québec, QC G1H 6R1
Canada

Eric Rousseau (QC)

Work Email: erousseau@sopfeu.qc.ca
Work Phone: +1 418-871-3341 ext. 5401

Address:
SOPFEU
Aéroport International Jean-Lesage
715, 7e rue de l'Aéroport
Québec, QC G2G 2S7
Canada

Tee Jay Boudreau (RI)

Work Email: teejay.boudreau@dem.ri.gov
Work Phone: +1 401-222-4700

Address:
Dept. of Environmental Management
235 Promenade Street, Suite 394
Providence, RI 02908-5767
United States

Art Canterbury (USFWS)

Work Email: art_canterbury@fws.gov
Mobile Phone: +1 413-345-1865
Office Phone: +1 413-253-8589

Address:
Div. of Wildland Fire and Emergency Management
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Northeast Region 5
300 Westgate Center Drive
Hadley, MA 01035
United States

David Robinson (NPS)

Work Email: david_robinson@nps.gov
Work Phone: +1 540-999-3500 ext. 3441
Mobile Phone: +1 928-606-2694

Danielle Fitzko (VT)

Work Email: danielle.fitzko@vermont.gov
Work Phone: +1 802-828-1531
Mobile Phone: +1 802-598-9992

Address:
VT Dept. of Forests, Parks and Recreation
1 National Life Drive, Davis 2
Montpelier, VT 05620-3801
United States

Allan Sands (VT)

Work Email: asandswpc71@vermontel.net
Work Phone: +1 802-289-1951

Address:
1169 Hall Ranch Rd.
Grafton, VT 05146
United States

Charles Shaw (VT)

Work Email: bshaw@leg.state.vt.us
Private Email: butchshaws@aol.com
Work Phone: +1 802-483-2398

Address:
910 Markowski Rd.
Florence, VT 05763
United States

Derek Ibarguen (WMNF)

Work Email: derek.ibarguen@usda.gov
Mobile Phone: +1 828-421-4844

Address:
White Mountain National Forest
71 White Mountain Drive
Campton, NH 03223
United States

Vinci Keeler (WMNF)

Work Email: vinci.keeler@usda.gov

Address:
White Mountain National Forest
71 White Mountain Drive
Campton, NH 03223
United States